COLLEGE FOOTBALL: McElwain Named 2015 SEC Coach of the Year

Jim McElwain
University of Florida head football coach Jim McElwain has been named the 2015 SEC Coach of the year, the league announced on Wednesday afternoon.

In earning his first SEC Coach of the Year honor, McElwain has guided the Florida Gators to a 10-3 record and their first SEC East Division Title since 2009. McElwain is only the third first-year coach in SEC history to reach the SEC Championship game, joining LSU's Les Miles (2005) and Auburn's Gus Malzhan (2013).

The former head coach at Colorado State took over the program in January after the Gators had finished 11-13 the past two years and led the Gators back into the national spotlight behind a superb defensive unit. 

McElwain is the first UF coach to earn the honor since Will Muschamp in 2012. The Gator football program has had six coaches win the award in its history.

McElwain and the Florida Gators continue their season at the Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl on Jan. 1. The Gators will face the Michigan Wolverines at 1 p.m. on ABC.

UF SEC Coach of the Year Award Winners
1960-Ray Graves
1980-Charley Pell
1984-Galen Hall
1990-Steve Spurrier (First season as Florida head coach)
1991-Steve Spurrier
1994-Steve Spurrier
1995-Steve Spurrier
1996-Steve Spurrier
2012-Will Muschamp
2015-Jim McElwain (First season as Florida head coach)

Popular posts from this blog

Orlando City SC to Face Cavalry FC in Round One of 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup

Golf: Remembering Kathy Whitworth, the Game’s Greatest Winner

ReliaQuest Bowl Goes to LSU Tigers over Wisconsin Badgers, 35-31