COLLEGE FOOTBALL: Six Dolphins to Play in National Bowl All-Star Game

MIAMI, Fla. – Following a 9-2 season and posting their 30th win as a class, six members of Jacksonville’s 2015 football team have been selected to play in the fifth Annual National Bowl Game at Ocean Bank Field at FIU Stadium in Miami, Florida, on Sunday, December 6. Andy Jones (#4), Dallas Jackson (#28), Matthew Passeggiata (#44), Logan Williamson (#56), Tyler Adrian (#70), and TJ Jenkins (#93) will play for the white team.

Jones, a senior wide receiver from Clermont, Fla., was second in the Pioneer Football League in receiving touchdowns (8) and receiving yards (890) and played in 10 of Jacksonville’s 11 games because of injury. He was third with 6.0 receptions per game, and sixth with 14.83 yards-per-catch. Jones finished his Jacksonville career second in receptions (141) and receiving yards (2,105).

Jackson was a ball-hawking safety that twice tied the school record for single-season interceptions with five over the last two seasons. He concluded his Dolphin career with 11 picks, second-most all-time, and had three pass break ups, four TFL, and 34 solo tackles this season.

Passeggiata caught four passes for 27 yards and had two receiving touchdowns this season in the ten games he played in.

Williamson and Adrian started all 11 games on the offensive line and were key factors in Jacksonville’s high-octane offense that led the PFL in total offense with 440.9 yards-per-game and had the fewest interceptions with eight. The Dolphins were second in scoring offense (30.5), passing efficiency (136.73), and passing offense (305.5). Williamson started 28 games and Adrian started in 22 in their careers.

Jenkins was a force from his defensive end spot and was third in the PFL with 7.5 sacks and eighth with 13.5 tackles-for-a-loss. The Darien, Ga., native started all 11 games and had 29 solo tackles, 17 assisted tackles, two forced fumbles, one recovery, and two pass breakups.

Popular posts from this blog

Orlando City SC to Face Cavalry FC in Round One of 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup

Golf: Remembering Kathy Whitworth, the Game’s Greatest Winner

ReliaQuest Bowl Goes to LSU Tigers over Wisconsin Badgers, 35-31