NFL Players Nominated for 2023 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award


NEW YORK — The 32 player nominees for the ninth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

Created in 2014, the award honors the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community — Warrick Dunn, 2014 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award recipient Larry Fitzgerald, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler —  will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote in December.

“Sportsmanship is the core of the game, the vanguard of public confidence, the keeper of game integrity,” said Troy Vincent, NFL executive vice president of football operations. “These Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominees exemplify the spirit of fair play and the values of respect, integrity, commitment to team and resiliency at the highest level of competition.”

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents and integrity in competition.​

2023 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Nominees







Arizona Cardinals

Budda Baker


Las Vegas Raiders

Maxx Crosby

Atlanta Falcons

Jake Matthews


Los Angeles Chargers

Khalil Mack

Baltimore Ravens

Kevin Zeitler


Los Angeles Rams

Jordan Fuller

Buffalo Bills

Mitch Morse


Miami Dolphins

Durham Smythe

Carolina Panthers

Adam Thielen


Minnesota Vikings

Danielle Hunter

Chicago Bears

T.J. Edwards


New England Patriots

David Andrews

Cincinnati Bengals

Tyler Boyd


New Orleans Saints

Erik McCoy

Cleveland Browns

Joel Bitonio


New York Giants

Bobby Okereke

Dallas Cowboys

Dak Prescott


New York Jets

C.J. Mosley

Denver Broncos

Lloyd Cushenberry III


Philadelphia Eagles

Fletcher Cox

Detroit Lions

Taylor Decker


Pittsburgh Steelers

Larry Ogunjobi

Green Bay Packers

Aaron Jones


San Francisco 49ers

Kyle Juszczyk

Houston Texans

Robert Woods


Seattle Seahawks

Bobby Wagner

Indianapolis Colts

DeForest Buckner


Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Chris Godwin

Jacksonville Jaguars

Foyesade Oluokun


Tennessee Titans

Morgan Cox

Kansas City Chiefs

Trent McDuffie


Washington Commanders

Logan Thomas​

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

​Previous Recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award






DT Calais Campbell

Baltimore Ravens


WR Matthew Slater

New England Patriots


QB Teddy Bridgewater

Carolina Panthers


RB Adrian Peterson

Washington Football Team


QB Drew Brees

New Orleans Saints


LB Luke Kuechly

Carolina Panthers


RB Frank Gore

Indianapolis Colts


CB Charles Woodson

Oakland Raiders


WR Larry Fitzgerald

Arizona Cardinals

For more from NFL Communication​s, visit

Popular posts from this blog

Orlando City SC to Face Cavalry FC in Round One of 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup

Golf: Remembering Kathy Whitworth, the Game’s Greatest Winner

ReliaQuest Bowl Goes to LSU Tigers over Wisconsin Badgers, 35-31