FSU: Aguayo, O’Leary Repeat as National Award Finalists

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Two Seminoles were announced as finalists for national awards on Tuesday night. Redshirt sophomore kicker Roberto Aguayo is one of three finalists for the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, while senior tight end Nick O’Leary is one of three finalists for the John Mackey Award, given to the nation’s top tight end.

Both players are repeat finalists for the awards, while Aguayo is looking to become the second person ever to win back-to-back Groza Awards, joining fellow Nole Sebastian Janikowski (1998, 1999).

“It’s a dream come true to be named a finalist again,” Aguayo said. “It meant a lot to win the award as a freshman last year. It motivated me to work even harder this year. I know there a lot of great kickers out there so it’s an honor to be in the running for this award. It’s exciting to get to go back to West Palm Beach. The Palm Beach County Sports Commission puts on a great event.”  

The Groza Award will be announced at the Home Deport College Football Awards Show on Dec. 11 at 7 p.m., while the Mackey Award will be announced on Dec. 10 and presented at the Home Deport Awards Pre-Show on Dec. 11 at 6 p.m.

“I'm very honored to be named a finalist along with two other great players for the Mackey Award again,” O’Leary said. “The Mackey Award is something that all tight ends want to win and I'd like to thank the committee for considering me. I'd also like to thank my coaches, teammates and family for their support.”

Aguayo joins Maryland’s Brad Craddock and West Virginia’s Josh Lambert as finalists for the Groza Award, while O’Leary is a Mackey Award finalist along with Miami’s Clive Walford and Minnesota’s Maxx Williams.

Aguayo has made 21 of 23 field goals this season, including all of his 50+ attempts and has remained perfect on 46 PATs. The Mascotte, Fla., native drilled a 26-yard game-winning field goal with three seconds left on Saturday to lift FSU over Boston College, 20-17.

Aguayo nailed a career-best-matching 53-yarder in a tight game at Miami and connected on 5-of-5 field goals en route to an FSU record 19 points versus Wake Forest earlier this season. Aguayo is tied for third in the nation in kicker scoring this season (9.9 points per game) and he leads the undefeated Seminoles (11-0) with 109 total points.

Last season, Aguayo captured the Groza Award after setting the national record for points by a kicker (57) while making 21-of-22 field goals and all 94 extra points for the National Champions. For his career, he has made 42-of-45 field goals (93.3 percent) and all 140 of his PATs.

O’Leary ranks second on the undefeated Seminoles (11-0) in receptions (40) and receiving yards (465) to go along with four touchdowns. The Palm Beach, Fla., native was named Mackey Award National Tight End of the Week following his eight-catch, 97-yard, one-touchdown game against Syracuse on Oct. 11. He has at least three receptions in eight games this season, including a six-catch, 77-yard effort against then No. 23 Clemson and team best totals of six receptions for 76 yards and a score in FSU’s 21-point comeback win at No. 24 Louisville.

O’Leary is FSU’s all-time leader among tight ends in receptions (106), receiving yards (1,438) and touchdowns (14).

Popular posts from this blog

Orlando City SC to Face Cavalry FC in Round One of 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup

Golf: Remembering Kathy Whitworth, the Game’s Greatest Winner

ReliaQuest Bowl Goes to LSU Tigers over Wisconsin Badgers, 35-31