NASL: Stoppage Time Goal Robs Armada of First Road Win, Forces 1-1 Draw

EDMONTON, Alberta – A hard-attacking Jacksonville Armada FC appeared on the way to its first road win in club history on Sunday, but a second half stoppage-time goal by FC Edmonton forced the Armada to settle for a 1-1 draw in its final away contest of 2015.

The Armada (5W-4D-10L North American Soccer League Fall, 8-7-14 Combined) had a tight hold on possession and created dominating routes to keep the Eddies on their toes for the entire 90 minutes. Forward Jemal Johnson was responsible for Jacksonville’s goal.

With goalkeeper David Sierra making his first start since he got the nod Sept. 12  against the New York Cosmos, the Armada came out soaring, keeping the match locked in a stalemate. Eddies’ backup goalkeeper Tyson Farago, who made just his second start of the season, had his hands full with a barrage of shots from the Armada and was forced into some spectacular saves.

A visibly frustrated Edmonton dropped down to 10 men when midfielder Ritchie Jones was sent off following a hard foul on Armada forward Akeil Barrett to receive his second yellow of the match in the 67th minute. With an opportunity in front of it, the Armada capitalized.

Within 10 minutes, Johnson charged downfield and fired a cross that was deflected by FC Edmonton defender Albert Watson into the net for an own goal, giving the Armada a 1-0 lead in the 77th minute.

Jacksonville’s defense remained strong until the dying minutes when the Eddies’ Mallan Roderts headed in a corner to draw the game level. Within seconds after the kickoff, the whistle blew and both teams walked away with a goal apiece.

The Armada will wrap up its inaugural season at 4 p.m. next Sunday at Community First Park against the Fort Lauderdale Strikers. A limited number of tickets are still available and can be purchased by calling 1.844.2.ARMADA or visiting

Popular posts from this blog

Orlando City SC to Face Cavalry FC in Round One of 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup

Golf: Remembering Kathy Whitworth, the Game’s Greatest Winner

ReliaQuest Bowl Goes to LSU Tigers over Wisconsin Badgers, 35-31