CFB: O’Leary Captures Mackey Award as Nation’s Top Tight End

Nick O'Leary catches one of two TD passes against Florida in regular season finale.
(Photo by Nancy Beecher)
NEW YORK – Florida State senior tight end Nick O’Leary was named the 2014 John Mackey Award winner as the nation’s most outstanding tight end on Wednesday.

O’Leary will be presented with the award at the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show at 6 p.m. ET on ESPNU on Thursday.

The Palm Beach, Fla., native is the first Seminole ever to win the honor, which has been presented since 2000 and named for NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey.

“I'm honored to be chosen as the winner of the 2014 Mackey Award,” O’Leary said. “The Mackey Award is something that all tight ends dream of winning and I'd like to thank the committee and all the voters for selecting me. My coaches, teammates and family have given me great support and I want to thank them too. My goal has been to be one of the best there is out there. A lot of great players have won this award and I want to be able to carry on the tradition that comes with being a Mackey Award winner.”

O’Leary has led the Seminoles to a 13-0 record and an appearance in the first-ever College Football Playoff in 2014 by totaling 47 receptions for 614 yards and seven touchdowns.

An All-ACC First Team selection, O’Leary has been especially dominant down the stretch for the Noles with 10 receptions for 208 yards and four touchdowns over the last three games. He had three catches for 97 yards and a score in the ACC Championship Game victory over Georgia Tech last Saturday and grabbed two touchdowns against rival Florida to wrap up the regular season last month.

An excellent blocker as well as a pass-catcher, O’Leary has helped the FSU offense average 34.8 points and 434.7 yards. He is FSU’s all-time leader among tight ends in career receptions (113), receiving yards (1,587) and touchdowns (17) – which is also tied for the second-most ever by an ACC tight end.

He was a finalist for the Mackey Award in 2013 after starring for the Seminoles’ national championship squad.

Florida State will bring a 29-game winning streak into the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1 when it faces Oregon in the National Semifinals. 

Popular posts from this blog

Orlando City SC to Face Cavalry FC in Round One of 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup

Golf: Remembering Kathy Whitworth, the Game’s Greatest Winner

ReliaQuest Bowl Goes to LSU Tigers over Wisconsin Badgers, 35-31